Wroxham 5k Race 2 Wednesday 17 June 2015

A bumper crowd of over 400 runners started the 2nd Wroxham 5k of the year, this included 22 Jaguars. The busy start and a muggy evening perhaps wasn’t conducive to producing PBs, however  this didn’t stop 6 Jags from beating their previous bests.  Well done to Jeremy Lawrence, Graham Johnson, Emma Wilcock, Jackie Gooch, Dawn Chapman and Carolyn Gerber!  Jeremy secured a Gold standard in the process.

First timer at this distance Alicia Lacey achieved a silver club standard with a time of 22.34!

As for the other Jags, it was Ben Dennington first in, with a time of 18:45, ahead of Tom Johnson who continues to consistently finish under 20 mins.  Perhaps we’ll see Tom at the Lord Mayors 5k this year?

Slightly further back (over a minute behind!) we had a three way tussle between Ben Gaskins, Scott Shrubsall and Ellie Bye, Ben showing the determination to win this time.  They were followed in by Ken Bowman and shortly after, Jeremy Lawrence.  Once again in tandem were Emma Wilcock and Graham Johnson, who both knocked over 30 seconds off their previous times!

Sue Allen arrived home a minute later with Alicia Lacey close behind, then a minute after that was Peter Kean-Cockburn.

After a short gap, Heather Hollister crossed the line in a gold standard time.  Then we had a group of 8 Jag Ladies who finished all within 1 minute of each other, headed by Claire Owen and completed by Rosemary Jackson.  The final Jag home was Annette Yeomanson, crossing the line in 30:10.

Congratulations also go to Sue Allen and Heather Hollister for receiving trophies for their places in the 5k Norfolk County Championships for their age categories!

Well done all – who got close to their handicap prediction?

wroxhan 5k race 2

NameTimePBClub Standard
Ben Dennington18.45Gold
Tom Johnson19.17Silver
Ben Gaskins20.34Silver
Scott Shrubsall20.37Silver
Ellie Bye20.40Gold
Ken Bowman20.53Diamond
Jeremy Lawrence20.59YesGold
Graham Johnson21.32YesSilver
Emma Wilcock21.36YesSilver
Sue Allen22.33Diamond
Alicia Lacey22.34First TimeSilver
Peter Kean-Cockburn23.33Silver
Heather Hollister25.54Gold
Claire Owen26.29
Jill Cole26.34Gold
Becky Durant26.47Gold
Jackie Gooch26.49Bronze
Dee Neale26.53Silver
Carolyn Gerber27.02YesBronze
Dawn Chapman27.12YesBronze
Rosemary Jackson27.35Gold
Annette Yeomanson30.10